It's that time of the year again. Eurovision is in the air and the organisers have decided the running order for the two semi-finals that take place in early May at the Sports Palace in the Kiev, Ukraine.

43 countries are down to enter this year, but six don't have to battle for a place in the final. The five broadcasters who pay the most towards running costs (Germany, France, Italy, Spain, UK) get a free pass as does the host nation.

From each semi-final, ten countries qualify to make up a 26-song grand final on 13 May 2017.

The running order is decided not by a draw, but by the show producers. They have heard all the songs and seen the ideas for how each will be staged. Both factors influence who sings when. If a song has a complex set-up, it may go first or around a commercial break. The producers also aim to provide a flow to the evening and do the best they can with the songs on offer - not easy given the slim pickings of the first semi-final.

Russia's place is still being used as a political football by people old enough to know better, so the running order here is, as they say, subject to change.

First semi-final - 9 May 2017

SwedenRobin BengtssonI can't go on
GeorgiaTamara GachechiladzeKeep the faith
AustraliaIsiahDon't come easy
BelgiumBlancheCity lights
MontenegroSlavko KalezićSpace
FinlandNorma JohnBlackbird
PortugalSalvador SobralAmar pelos dois
GreeceDemyThis is love
PolandKasia MośFlashlight
MoldovaSunStroke ProjectHey, mamma!
Czech RepublicMartina BártaMy turn
ArmeniaArtsvikFly with me
SloveniaOmar NaberOn my way
LatviaTriana ParkLine

Second semi-final - 11 May 2017

SerbiaTijana BogićevićIn too deep
AustriaNathan TrentRunning on air
MacedoniaJana BurčeskaDance alone
MaltaClaudia FanielloBreathlessly
RomaniaIlinca feat. Alex FloreaYodel it!
NetherlandsO'G3NELights and shadows
HungaryJoci PápaiOrigo
DenmarkAnja NissenWhere I am
IrelandBrendan MurrayDying to try
San MarinoValentina Monetta & Jimmie WilsonSpirit of the night
CroatiaJacques HoudekMy friend
NorwayJOWST feat. Aleksander WalmannGrab the moment
BelarusNavibandHistoryja majho žyccia
BulgariaKristian KostovBeautiful mess
LithuaniaFusedmarcRain of revolution
EstoniaKoit Toome & LauraVerona
IsraelImriI feel alive

The running order for the final is to be decided on Thursday, 11 May.