Esc 2017 logo

It's that time of the year again. Eurovision is in the air and the organisers have decided the running order for the two semi-finals that take place in early May at the Sports Palace in the Kiev, Ukraine.

43 countries are down to enter this year, but six don't have to battle for a place in the final. The five broadcasters who pay the most towards running costs (Germany, France, Italy, Spain, UK) get a free pass as does the host nation.

From each semi-final, ten countries qualify to make up a 26-song grand final on 13 May 2017.

The running order is decided not by a draw, but by the show producers. They have heard all the songs and seen the ideas for how each will be staged. Both factors influence who sings when. If a song has a complex set-up, it may go first or around a commercial break. The producers also aim to provide a flow to the evening and do the best they can with the songs on offer - not easy given the slim pickings of the first semi-final.

Russia's place is still being used as a political football by people old enough to know better, so the running order here is, as they say, subject to change.

First semi-final - 9 May 2017

Second Half SwedenRobin BengtssonI can't go onQualified
N/AGeorgiaTamara GachechiladzeKeep the faithEliminated
Second Half AustraliaIsiahDon't come easyQualified
Second Half BelgiumBlancheCity lightsQualified
N/AMontenegroSlavko KalezićSpaceEliminated
N/AFinlandNorma JohnBlackbirdEliminated
First Half AzerbaijanDihajSkeletonsQualified
First Half PortugalSalvador SobralAmar pelos doisQualified
Second Half GreeceDemyThis is loveQualified
First Half PolandKasia MośFlashlightQualified
First HalfMoldovaSunStroke ProjectHey, mamma!Qualified
N/ACzech RepublicMartina BártaMy turnEliminated
Second Half CyprusHovigGravityQualified
First Half ArmeniaArtsvikFly with meQualified
N/ASloveniaOmar NaberOn my wayEliminated
N/ALatviaTriana ParkLineEliminated

Second semi-final - 11 May 2017

SerbiaTijana BogićevićIn too deepEliminated
AustriaNathan TrentRunning on airQualified
MacedoniaJana BurčeskaDance aloneEliminated
MaltaClaudia FanielloBreathlesslyEliminated
RomaniaIlinca feat. Alex FloreaYodel it!Qualified
NetherlandsO'G3NELights and shadowsQualified
HungaryJoci PápaiOrigoQualified
DenmarkAnja NissenWhere I amQualified
IrelandBrendan MurrayDying to tryEliminated
San MarinoValentina Monetta & Jimmie WilsonSpirit of the nightEliminated
CroatiaJacques HoudekMy friendQualified
NorwayJOWST feat. Aleksander WalmannGrab the momentQualified
BelarusNavibandHistoryja majho žycciaQualified
BulgariaKristian KostovBeautiful messQualified
LithuaniaFusedmarcRain of revolutionEliminated
EstoniaKoit Toome & LauraVeronaEliminated
IsraelImriI feel aliveQualified

The running order for the final is to be decided on Thursday, 11 May.