Nine Danish songs in running for three DMGP places

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020.
Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020.

The first songs competing to represent Denmark at the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest are available online.

This year, broadcaster DR has opted for an online ‘qualifying round’ organised by P4 radio with nine (regionally shortlisted) songs in the running for three of the national selection show slots.

This year marks 50 years of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, the music competition that selects Denmark’s entries for the Eurovision Song Contest. For the first time since 1999, a live orchestra will be used in the final.

Here are the shortlisted songs – and yes, we wondered what the West of Denmark has done to upset anyone.

The five that already made the cut are due out on 31 January.

Southern Denmark

Jamie Talbot – ‘Bye Bye Heaven’
Words & music: Tom Oehler, Hampus Eurenius & Aron Blom

Kenny Duerlund – ‘Forget It All’
Words & music: Henrik Tala, Mila Falls, Patrick Jean & Kenny Duerlund

Nick Jones – ‘2 AM’
Words & music: Jon Hällgren, Lukas Hällgren, Hampus Eurenius & George Keller

Eastern Denmark

SamSara – ‘For You’
Words & music: Lars ‘Chief 1’ Pedersen, Remee, Kwamie Liv & Sara Amalie Gerup

Søren Okholm – ‘Impossible Dreamers’
Words & music: Tobias Stigaard Stenkjær, Peter Jantzen, Nanna Supriya Wedel & Søren Fynbo Okholm

Ben & Tan – ‘Yes’
Words & music: Emil Adler Lei, Jimmy Jansson & Linnea Deb

Northern Denmark

Emil – ‘Ville ønske jeg havde kendt dig’
Words & music: Esben Svane, Emil Vestergaard Klausen, Gavyn Matthew Bailey & Tim Schou

Sander Sanchez – ‘Screens’
Words & music: Jonas Thander, Liam Craig & Christopher Wortley

MieLou – ‘We Could Be So Beautiful’
Words & music: Thomas Reil, Jeppe Reil, Bruce R. F. Smith & Eric Lumiere

This is where you’ll find the competing songs

Tournament Overview below, i’ll be asking questions!

Nine songs are in the semi final.  There are also nine regions of Danish Radio’s P4 radio station.  DR have grouped these together to form 3 super regions – South, East and North.  In each region three songs would be assigned to them and everyone cal listen to all of them but only the specific people in the region would be able to choose between  the three songs assigned to them.

At the end of the voting window the winner of each region then joins the five pre qualified songs, Plus another two wild cards from the songs that didn’t qualify from the regional round get put through – thereby making ten for the grand final.