More about Luxembourg’s Eurovision return

Luxembourg is back at Eurovision

After a hiatus of 31 years from the Eurovision Song Contest, Luxembourg is set to make a return in the 2024 edition, to be held in Malmö, Sweden. The Luxembourgish broadcaster, RTL, is responsible for organising a national final, to select an entry for the contest. This national final, slated for 27 January 2024, marks Luxembourg’s first participation since 1993 and will be held at the Rockhal in Esch-sur-Alzette, broadcast on RTL Télé Lëtzebuerg and the broadcaster’s online platform​

Song selection format

The national final format, to be detailed on 1 December 2023, will incorporate public voting, indicating a commitment to a transparent and democratic selection process.

The submission period for interested singers and songwriters was opened by RTL on 3 July 2023.

To be eligible, performers must either hold Luxembourgish nationality, have resided in the country for at least three consecutive years, or be involved with the Luxembourgish music scene, while songwriters can be of any nationality. The submission form was divided into three categories: singers without songs, singer-songwriters with up to three songs, and songwriters seeking performers. A hundred artists applied and underwent an audition round, with a second round for those who qualified and performers who entered with a song. The deadline for singer-songwriters was 1 October 2023​.

459 entries in the bag

A total of 459 entries were submitted to RTL, one of which was from the prolific Eurovision songwriter Ralph Siegel, known for his numerous contributions to the contest and his victory with Germany in 1982. The selection of artists and songs for the national final is being undertaken by a panel of experts consisting of Sandra Bintz, Eric Lehmann, Jenny Fischbach, Jules Serrig, Sam Steen, and chair David Gloesener​.

​Big shoes to fill

Luxembourg’s return to Eurovision is a significant event, considering the country’s historic success in the contest. Luxembourg has won Eurovision five times since its debut in 1956. The decision to rejoin the contest was spearheaded by the Luxembourgish Prime Minister Xavier Bettel, with support from the Luxembourgish government and RTL.