Who sings when at Eurovision 2017

Esc 2017 logo

It’s that time of the year again. Eurovision is in the air and the organisers have decided the running order for the two semi-finals that take place in early May at the Sports Palace in the Kiev, Ukraine.

43 countries are down to enter this year, but six don’t have to battle for a place in the final. The five broadcasters who pay the most towards running costs (Germany, France, Italy, Spain, UK) get a free pass as does the host nation.

From each semi-final, ten countries qualify to make up a 26-song grand final on 13 May 2017.

The running order is decided not by a draw, but by the show producers. They have heard all the songs and seen the ideas for how each will be staged. Both factors influence who sings when. If a song has a complex set-up, it may go first or around a commercial break. The producers also aim to provide a flow to the evening and do the best they can with the songs on offer – not easy given the slim pickings of the first semi-final.

Russia’s place is still being used as a political football by people old enough to know better, so the running order here is, as they say, subject to change.

First semi-final – 9 May 2017

Viewing Camera crew Dress Rehearsal 211:30 - 12:30
LUNCH12:30 - 13:30
Grand Final Dress Rehearsal 314:00 - 17:30
Viewing Camera crew Dress Rehearsal 317:30 - 20:00
DINNER20:00 - 21:00
Pre-show21:00 - 22:00
Grand Final22:00 - 01:30
Winners’ Press ConferenceTBA

Second semi-final – 11 May 2017

Opening Grand Final - all finalists12:30 - 14:00
LUNCH13:00 - 15:00
Grand Final Dress Rehearsal 115:00 - 18:00
Viewing Camera crew Dress Rehearsal 118:00 - 20:00
DINNER20:00 - 21:00
EBU Press Conference about Junior Eurovision Song Contest 201718:20 - 18:40
Pre-show21:00 - 22:00
Grand Final Dress Rehearsal 222:00 - 01:30

The running order for the final is to be decided on Thursday, 11 May.