The answer to life, the universe and Eurovision


The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) has today confirmed 42 countries are to take part in the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest. In effect, everyone from last year minus Bulgaria – because they’re skint.

Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, said “We are thrilled that 42 countries will be represented in Tel Aviv and hope the participating broadcasters are inspired to have the same dream. The team at KAN is busy preparing to welcome the participants – and the World! – to Tel Aviv and will be putting on a show to remember.”

The Eurovision Song Contest Semi-Finals will be held in Tel Aviv on 14 and 16 May followed by the Grand Final on 18 May.

Because lists are fun, here’s one:

Albania (RTSH)
Armenia (AMPTV)
Australia (SBS)*
Austria (ORF)
Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI TV)
Belarus (BTRC)
Belgium (RTBF)
Croatia (HRT)
Cyprus (CYBC)
Czech Republic (CT)
Denmark (DR)
Estonia (ERR)
Finland (YLE)
France (FT)
FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
Germany (ARD/NDR)
Georgia (GPB)
Greece (ERT)
Hungary (MTVA)
Iceland (RUV)
Ireland (RTE)
Israel (IPBC/KAN)
Italy (RAI)
Latvia (LTV)
Lithuania (LRT)
Malta (PBS)
Moldova (TRM)
Montenegro (RTCG)
The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
Norway (NRK)
Poland (TVP)
Portugal (RTP)
Romania (TVR)
Russia (RTR)
San Marino (RTV)
Serbia (RTS)
Slovenia (RTVSLO)
Spain (TVE)
Sweden (SVT)
Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
Ukraine (UA:PBC)
United Kingdom (BBC)