Updated: Sixteen in the running for Ukrainian Eurovision job

Ukraine at Eurovision

Broadcasters UA:PBC and STB have named fifteen acts who will go head-to-head to represent Ukraine at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest.

Hosted by Sergey Pritul, the Ukrainian national final takes place at the Palace of Culture “KPI” in Kyiv with two semi-finals (9 and 16 February) and a final on 23 February 2019.  i

An expert jury gets to pass comment and award points – the same three faces as last year have landed the gig – 2016 winner Jamala, Andriy Danylko (better known as Verka Serduchka) and musician Yevhen Filatov.

Here are the competitors:

  • Braii
  • Freedom jazz
  • Kazka
  • Yuko
  • The Hypnotunez
  • Laud
  • Brunettes Shoot Blondes
  • Vera Kekelia
  • ЦеШо
  • Ivan Navi
  • Anna Maria – My road
  • Bahroma
  • Letay
  • Maruv
  • Кira Mazur
  • Khayat

Ukraine has participated in the Contest 15 times since making its debut in 2003, winning twice. Since the 2014 introduction of semi-finals, Ukraine has never failed to qualify for the final (except in 2015 when they did not take part).

Editorial note: This article was updated on 22 January after Tayanna announced withdrawal from the initial line-up (wait a week or so and odds are she’ll be back … in the running this time for Belarus). She’s been replaced by Maruv.