Australian TV reveal first Eurovision names

Electric Fields

For the first time since Australia became the hard to explain ‘guest’ at the European Broadcasting Union’s annual pop music contest, broadcaster SBS is to stage song selection shows.

‘Eurovision, Australia Decides’ sees ten acts compete on 9 February to represent the country in Israel next May. Already SBS has confirmed receipt of over 700 potential entries.

The first four acts locked in for the event are award-winning singer-songwriter Kate Miller-Heidke, the indie pop band Sheppard, the pop-opera star Mark Vincent and the modern electric-soul duo Electric Fields (pictured).

A professional jury will first score the performances during a show to be recorded on 8 February. It airs ahead of the final the following night when viewers also get to vote.

More names are to be confirmed in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments