Russian singer vows not to break


We’re closer than ever to a full pack of songs for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, and the latest internal selection to surface comes from Russia.

Yulia Samoylova will perform ‘I won’t break’ – the video leaked on Sunday and was everywhere within hours. Leonid Gutkin, wrote the song – he was behind the Russian entries in 2013 and 2015, as well as the Moldovan song in 2016.

The singer had been slated to perform for Russia last year, but fell foul of Ukrainian laws after she performed in the annexed region of Crimea. At the time, it was stated that any performance by Yulia would be banned by the Ukrainian state broadcaster for three years. This appears to have been conveniently forgotten. We did ask the EBU for clarification, but they ignored our email.

Until the song surfaced, Russia had been riding high with bookmakers. The odds have now lengthened considerably.