Denmark releases it’s elite eight.

Danmarks Radio have released their eight songs for the Melodi Grand Prix to be held at the DR Koncerthuset.

Amongst the list of 8 singers is Aura Dion who has been know in Denmark for hits like “Something from Nothing” and “Geronimo”.  Basim also makes his return to the contest ten years after winning with “Clilche Love song”.

DR claim to have taken a new direction after years of dissapointment.  Their Head of DMGP said to DR :

“We have further developed some of the things that we think already worked in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix and then sharpened the focus on what was missing. In the past, we have included songs that were super strong radio numbers, but that you might have to hear a few times before they stuck. This year we have focused more on the fact that it should be “love at first listen”. That the songs hit you the first time you hear them.

 In addition, we have focused on the fact that we wanted to include songs that we assessed would do well in Eurovision. There have been songs in particular that spoke to the greatest emotions – as last year’s Eurovision winner ‘Tattoo’ also did – and effective pop songs  like Finland’s ‘Cha Cha Cha’ from Eurovision for example did.”

They seem, then, to be saying all the right things, but have they got their listening ears on and picked eight good songs? – Well they are now below for you to endure – or enjoy – depending on your point of view.

Chu Chu – The Chase (Zoom Zoom)

Basim – Johnny

Stella – Sign Here

UBLU – Planetary Hearts

RoseeLu – Real Love

Janus Wiberg – I need your love

SABA – Sand

Aura Dione – Mirrorball of Hope